Strengthening Our Church – Prayer

Revelation 3: 2 ‘Wake up! You have only a little strength left, and it is almost gone. So try to become stronger. I have found that you are not completely obeying God.’

Last week: Strengthened by – the Word of God

King David was the strongest of all Israel’s Kings and under his leadership Israel was the greatest of all Nations because David was devoted to God’s Word Psalm 119: 140

In the same way that King David and Israel were strengthened by the Word of God, so are we!

Do you love God’s Word?

#2 Strengthened by – Prayer

Now, we come to a time in Israel’s history when the Nation was not strong

Israel and its kings had rebelled against God

Israel was defeated in war

Israel was now small and weak

Finally, God punished Israel and sent the Nation, into captivity, to Babylon

But, there was one man whose heart still belonged to the Lord – Daniel

Daniel 10

Daniel’s heart was broken because of the sin of Israel, so he began to pray to God

Daniel 10: 8b – 9 ‘my strength left me, my face grew deathly pale, and I felt very weak…I fainted and lay there with my face to the ground’.

Have you ever felt like that?

Heart broken, because of the rebellion, sin and failure of God’s people

Without strength, deathly weak, faint, lying on the ground with your face in the dirt

But….Things change when we pray!

Daniel 10: 10-12, 19 through prayer we receive strength from God

Ephesians 3:16 ‘I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit’.